Solar Observatory Council (SOC)

The SOC provides oversight for the National Solar Observatory (NSO).

Dr. Mats Carlsson

Institute of Theoretical Astrophysics, Oslo

Dr. Jonathan Cirtain (Appointed)


Dr. Shadia Habbal

Institute for Astronomy

Institute for Astronomy

Dr. Maura Hagan (Chair)

College of Science

Utah State University

Dr. Louise Harra

Department of Space & Climate Physics

University College London

Jason Jackiewicz (Appointed)

New Mexico State University

Feng-Chuan Liu

California Institute of Technology & TMT International Observatory

Matt Mountain (ex officio)


Mr. Jacobus Oschmann (Vice Chair)

Civil Space and Technology

Ball Aerospace & Technologies Corporation

Dr. Thomas Woods

Laboratory for Atmospheric and Space Physics

University of Colorado